The 4 C’s: Color, Clarity, Cut, and Carat

This is a universal grading system for comparing the quality of diamonds. Use this guide to select the diamond that is right for you.


 There are 23 color classifications for white diamonds from D to Z, with D being the most rare.


The clarity of a diamond is judged by examining a diamond under 10 power magnification.

FL-IF . No inclusions visible (by an expert) under 10x magnification. (FL=Flawless, IF=Internally Flawless).

VVS1-VVS2 . Minute-extremely difficult to find under 10x. (VVS=Very, very slight inclusions).

VVS1-VVS2 . Minor-difficult to find under 10x. (VS=very slight inclusions).

SI1-SI2 . Noticeable, relatively easy to find under 10x. (SI=Small inclusions).

I1-I2 . Obvious under 10x- Just visible to the naked eye. (I1=Imperfect).


There are two aspects to cut. The diamond’s shape & its craftsmanship or make.

Diamond ShapesRound Brilliant, Emerald, Oval, Pear Shape, & Princess.

The Make
 The cut or make of the diamond is what gives the diamond its fire, sparkle and brilliance. Though extremely difficult to analyze or quantify, the cut of any diamond has three attributes: brilliance (the total light reflected from a diamond), fire (the dispersion of light into the colors of the spectrum), and scintillation (the flashes of light, or sparkle, when a diamond is moved).

Too Deep
Diamonds cut too deep will leak light & appear darker & smaller than they should.

Too Shallow
Diamonds cut too shallow will appear glassy & lifeless.

Excellent Cut
Diamonds cut to the proper proportions will reflect and refract light in a vivid display of Brilliance, Scintillation and Fire.


 *These sizes are for comparison purposes only. Diamond sizes will vary depending on display settings.